This Rule Explains Your
Options If You Hit Your Ball Into A Lateral Water Hazard usually marked by
We have all been in them
at one time or another but do you know your options when you require relief.
Below are some examples you may find yourself in.
OK Lets say you have
sliced your tee shot and ended up in the hazard on the right. The first
thing you need to know is the point the ball last crossed the margin of the
hazard, for this exercise that point is marked with an "X"Check out fig 1.
You have five options.
Option 1: (No Penalty) If
you think the ball is playable you can try and get it out, but make sure you
don't ground your club while you are in the hazard or that will be a 2 shot
Option 2: (Under a
Penalty of 1 Stroke) You can play a ball as nearly as possible from where
the original ball was played "A", in this case since the original ball was
played from the tee you are allowed to re-tee the ball if you choose this
Option 3: (Under a
Penalty of 1 Stroke) You may drop a ball outside the lateral water hazard
2 club-lenghts of and not nearer the hole than
the point were the original ball last crossed the hazard"X"
Option 4: (Under a
Penalty of 1 Stroke) You may drop a ball outside the lateral water hazard at
a point "D" on the opposite margin of the lateral water hazard equidistant
from the hole from point "X"
Option 5: (Under a
Penalty of 1 Stroke) You may drop a ball behind the
lateral water hazard "C", keeping the point at which the ball lasted crossed
the margin of the water hazard "X", directly between the hole and the spot
on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water
hazard the ball may be dropped.
Figure 2 shows your
options if you hook you tee shot and enter the hazard at point
Again with no penalty you
may choose to play the ball if it is playable.
Again you can drop the
ball under a penalty of 1 stroke at point "B", but before you choose this
option look at the other options open to you. I have seen so many players
walk straight up to point "X" and drop a ball, go and get a club then look
to see where they are going to hit the shot. Apart from the severe slope
down to the hazard the large clump of reeds often block a path back up to
the fairway. Use the rules to your advantage, in this case it may well be
the best option to drop the ball under a penalty of 1 stroke at point "C".
Lets face it from point "B" only a few members can get anywhere near the
green, so if you opt for option "C" you can get a good flat lie on the
fairway and only lose a few meters.
Again you can go back to
the tee under a penalty of 1 stroke, but this would not be a wise option in
The other option of going
to the opposite margin of the hazard is not an option here as the other
fairway is classed as out of bounds while playing the hole.
Figure 3 shows your
options if you drive your ball into the hazard without going over any land.
Option 1: Under a penalty
of 1 stroke you may tee a ball back up and hit it from the teeing area "A"
tion 2: Under a penalty
of 1 stroke you may drop a ball at point "B". Under this option you would
pick up a few yards but option 1 would still be the best option as you can
tee the ball back up with option 1.
Option 3: This is the
last option you have with this example, you can drop a ball at point "C"
were the original ball last crossed the hazard. This may seem like a stupid
option to give you given that you would be dropping on a severe downslope,
but again the number of times I have seen people dropping it here is
astounding. More often than not they drop it here because they know no
Use the rules to your advantage,
sometimes it is difficult to regain your composure after hitting it in the
water, but if you know your options and think about all of them before you
drop your ball it could be the difference between a bogey and a triple.